The BFG (Roald Dahl) 3.5*

The dream-jar was labelled:

THIS DREAM IS ABOUT HOW I IS SAVING MY TEECHER FROM DROWNING.  I IS DIVING INTO THE RIVER FROM A HIGH BRIDGE AND I IS DRAGGING MY TEECHER TO THE BANK AND THEN I IS GIVING HIM THE KISS OF DEATH…

“The kiss of what?” Sophie asked.

The BFG stopped writing and raised his head slowly.  His eyes rested on Sophie’s face.  “I is telling you once before,” he said quietly, “that I is never having a chance to go to school.  I is full of mistakes.  They is not my fault.  I do my best.  You is a lovely little girl, but please remember that you is not exactly Miss Knoweverything yourself.”

4 responses to “The BFG (Roald Dahl) 3.5*

  1. I take this as a pointed comment directed at the proscriptivist in me.

    • So self-centered, my little proscriptivist.
      I was just delighting in the way Roald Dahl can inject wickedness in the innocuous. Is the dream good because she gives her teacher the kiss of life or the kiss of death?

      • The subjunctive tense affects us ALL.
        I think the notion that “wickedness” is the opposite of “good” is interesting in itself.
        I have dreams that I misuse basic idiomatic expressions, like “this is different than that.”
        Definitely wicked.

      • I agree. I get the horrors just thinking of you saying “this is different than that.”

Leave a Reply

