The Perks of Being a Wallflower (Stephen Chbosky) 5*

After reading a couple very good Sarah Dessen books and not being touched in my heart’s cold core, I was starting to think that maybe the YA genre just didn’t have it for me unless there was SF goodness involved.

Not true!  I am head over heels in love with this book.

Charlie is so odd, with such an unerring instinct for sincerity, that he puts Holden Caulfield to shame.  This tiny little book makes me feel that thing that  the legions clutching Catcher in the Rye claim to feel.

This is how much I love Charlie:

  • He opens his letters with “Dear friend” and it’s okay.
  • He uses quotation marks on random words and it becomes adorable.
  • He hits the exclamation marks, which would be screech marks for anyone else, but when Charlie uses them they’re joy marks.

What I’m saying is, all the rules break apart because it’s pure love joy terror.

Leave a Reply

